NACAA Urges Support for Reauthorization of DERA Legislation

September 8, 2016 – NACAA, as part of a coalition that also includes industry groups and environmental and public health organizations, signed a letter sent to 67 House Republicans thanking them for their support of continued appropriations for the Diesel Emissions Reduction Act (DERA) and asking them to cosponsor H.R. 5913, a bipartisan bill – introduced by Rep. Renee Ellmers (R-NC) and Doris Matsui (D-CA) – to reauthorize DERA for another five years. In the letter, the coalition highlights the cost effectiveness of the DERA program, noting EPA’s estimates that every $1 in federal assistance is met with another $3 in non-federal matching funds and generates $7 to $18 in health and economic benefits. As indicated in the letter, EPA also estimates that the DERA program has resulted in the upgrading of nearly 73,000 vehicles or pieces of equipment for total lifetime emissions reductions of 335,200 tons of nitrogen oxide and 14,700 tons of particulate matter, which equate to approximately $12.6 billion in health benefits. The coalition also explains that every state benefits from DERA, with 30 percent of funding dedicated to supporting state programs. In addition to NACAA, those signing the letter include the American Association of Port Authorities, American Highway Users Alliance, American Lung Association, American Trucking Associations, Associated General Contractors of America, Association of American Railroads, Caterpillar, Inc., Clean Air Task Force, Corning Incorporated, Cummins Inc., Diesel Technology Forum, Emissions Control Technology Association, Environmental Defense Fund, Foss Maritime Company, Interstate Distributor, Manufacturers of Emission Controls Association, NAFA Fleet Management Association, National Association for Pupil Transportation, National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation Services, National School Transportation Association, Natural Resources Defense Council, Navistar, Saltchuk, Thomas Built Buses, Umicore Autocat, Inc. and United Motorcoach Association.