Three Local Air Agencies Among Winners of Clean Air Excellence Awards

June 28, 2016 – Three NACAA member agencies from California were among the recipients of EPA’s 15th annual Clean Air Excellence Awards.  The Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District (APCD) and the Ventura County APCD, along with partners Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary, Environmental Defense Center and National Marine Sanctuary Foundation, received the Community Action Award for their project, Protecting Blue Whales and Blue Skies.  Aeron Arlin Genet, Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control Officer (APCO) and Mary Byrd, Community Programs Sponsor of the Santa Barbara County APCD, and Mike Villegas, Ventura County APCO, and John Zaragoza, Ventura County Supervisor and Chair of the Ventura County Air Pollution Control Board, accepted the award on behalf of their respective agencies.  The Great Basin Unified Air Pollution Control District received one of two awards for Regulatory/Policy Innovations for its Owens Lake PM10 Project.  Accepting the award were Phillip Kiddoo, Great Basin APCO; Ted Schade, former (retired) Great Basin APCO; Dr. Grace Holder, Playa Geologist/Senior Geologist; Nik Barbieri, Owens Lake Director of Technical Services; and Chris Lanane, Air Monitoring Specialist.  Other award recipients were the Georgia Ports Authority for its Clean Air Technology project, Electric Rubber Tire Gantry Cranes; SmartPower for its Community Action project, Rhode Island Energy Challenge: Find Your Four!; Southern Ute Indian Tribe Air Quality Program for its Regulatory/Policy Innovations project, Implementation of a Part 70 Operating Permit Program; University of California Irvine Transportation Services for its project, Sustainable Transportation Program; and Dr. John C. Wall, former (retired) Chief Technical Officer of Cummins, Inc., who received the Thomas W. Zosel Outstanding Individual Achievement Award.  EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy and Acting Assistant Administrator Janet McCabe spoke at the awards ceremony, which was held in the Administrator’s Green Room.  Congratulations to all of the winners!